Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple


This week’s WordPress Photo Challenge is PURPLE. I like the color and I had no problem finding photos in my archive that were predominately purple.

Of course, there were flowers:




And a few of sunsets, like this one:

And other things found at the beach:

And abstracts. These were from the city’s attempt to cover up graffiti on two overpasses:

And I had to include the newly painted wall in my dining room:

You can see other purple flowers that I’ve posted before here, here, here, here, here, and here.

Check out all of the entries in this week’s Photo Challenge here.

25 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple

  1. Your photos are excellent, Anne. I love how detailed and sharp they are. Lovely!

  2. Lots of great shots – I just love the single violet, and also the first graffiti abstract!

    • I don’t know that I ever noticed the inside of violets before this spring when I started photographing them. I am amazed at how complex such a simple looking flower can be. I had fun with that abstract. I have no clue what was originally under that paint or why there were three distinct colors in such small patches.

  3. some really nice details here!

  4. Beautiful photos of purple!

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Purple | Wind Against Current

  6. Amazing pictures – I love the leaf with the water in the middle.

  7. Amazingly clear, crisp beautiful purple pics! 🙂

  8. Fantastic wall! Also love the city cover-up purple.

    • Sometimes I think the city’s attempt to cover up graffiti only brings more attention to it, sometimes with amazing results! Thanks for stopping by & commenting.

  9. mobius faith

    You obviously love the color purple. 🙂
    I think my favorite shots are the lily pad because it just feels so wet and wonderful, and also the sunset for it’s minimalism.

    • I didn’t realize that I had so many purple shots until I started looking. But, I love photographing flowers and many of them are purple! I’m still not sold on the purple wall in my dining room, but was persuaded by a designer-type to do so. I do love how the color changes throughout the day, from an undeniable purple (which is a bit jarring) to a chocolate brown (much more relaxing).

  10. Beautiful purple flowers! Love them 😀

  11. Love the first few shots, very delicate and beautiful!

  12. Wonderful purple photos for the challenge. Quite a collection and framing them in purple makes it seem like a gallery. I didn’t have that much purple in my archives but tons of red. Interesting, what we are drawn to. I enjoy following your blog.

    • Thanks, Ruth. I realized this morning that I wasn’t consistent with the color and width of the frames, but still, I think that it helped to group them. Only the last one was intentionally different — the shade of purple was just too gross next to that picture. The wall photographed but more yellow than it is IRL. The top half of the wall is really a taupe instead of the yellow white in the photo.

      I’m glad you enjoy what I post here.