Travel Theme: Statues or…. Balzac!


Although I’ve always appreciated the work of painters, it’s only been in recent years that I’ve started appreciating the work of sculptors.  When I saw that Ailsa’s Travel Theme for the week was statues, in one second I knew what I wanted to post, though  in seconds two, three, four…ten, I thought of several others.

My husband and I have a this thing whenever one of us is in NYC without the other.  If we happen to go to MOMA, we text a picture of Rodin’s Monument to Balzac.  For years it was in the lobby, but has also been displayed in the garden.

Here is one of the casts of Rodin’s famous sculpture, located in the gardens of Musée Rodin (one of my favorite places in Paris). It was quite controversial when Rodin unveiled his plaster study. His commission for the work was cancelled and the statue was never cast during Rodin’s lifetime. Today, it is considered to be one of the first works of modern sculpture.

Balzac, Rodin, Garden, Paris

Monument to Balzac, Musée Rodin

In January, while vacationing in SW Florida, on one of the rare days we dragged ourselves off the beach, we made an excursion to the Naples Botanical Garden.  It was much chillier than we had anticipated and T quickly decided that he wanted to cut short his walk and wait inside in the warmth.  With camera in hand and lots of pretty things to shoot, I pretended to not care about the cold and wandered off towards Asian Garden where I wanted to take pictures of the Java-inspired ruins.

But, as I entered the gardens, I noticed that the groundskeepers were beginning to cover several plants to protect them from the predicted frost that evening.  With large Cristo-like sheeting, several plants and trees were shrouded.   Although I wondered what those trees were and what was hidden underneath, I couldn’t help but find the unintentional statues compelling to look at.

When I saw this one, I knew I had to take a picture.   I wasn’t anywhere near MOMA, but I immediately thought:  BALZAC!

Naples Botanical Garden,

Modern Sculpture?

3 responses to “Travel Theme: Statues or…. Balzac!

  1. Pingback: 3-30-14 Travel Theme:Statues | The Quotidian Hudson

  2. Pingback: Travel Theme-Statues | WoollyMuses

  3. Sculpture is HARD, no pun intended