Gotta Make a Connection…. (Travel Theme: Connections)


I read Ailsa’s travel theme for this week on Friday, but didn’t have time to put a post together.  However, it spurned an ear worm.   Ah, thanks?  But before I give you the pop melody I couldn’t get out of my head for several hours, my photos of a place that says connections in a variety of ways:

To physical places:

Spanning an inlet of Pensacola Bay

Spanning an inlet of Pensacola Bay

To an audience:

Weird?  Maybe?  Guess it depends on who you are talking to.

Weird? Maybe? Guess it depends on who you are talking to.

For A Cause:

Painted pink in October for Breast Cancer Awareness Month

Painted pink in October for Breast Cancer Awareness Month

With Messages Understood by only some individuals or groups:

What connections are there to Eskimos in the Florida Panhandle?  I don't know, but maybe the person who painted this does!

What connections are there to Eskimos in the Florida Panhandle? I don’t know, but maybe the person who painted this does!

The Pensacola Graffiti Bridge, located at the 17th Ave rail crossing and Bayfront Parkway in Pensacola, Florida.  It’s a 50-year tradition where local law enforcement looks the other way, so that artists, lovers, graffiti writers and anyone with a message can use the bridge and trestle to make connections via spray paint.

About that ear worm:  When I thought “connection”, I found myself humming “I’ve gotta make a connection to you…”.  Of course, the lyrics to the song are “I gotta get a message to you”.   One of the songs from the soundtrack of my youth, though this performance was long after this was a hit.  Hadn’t thought of this song in a few decades.

It’s not too late to play along.  Everybody has a different idea of a “connection”.  Post yours & then link up to Wheres My Backpack before Friday.

Here are some other interpretations:

13 responses to “Gotta Make a Connection…. (Travel Theme: Connections)

  1. Hi Anne! It is 17 days past your 5X5X5 post and I just came to it. I am so sorry. I get on average about 250 +/- emails from WP each day. I cannot keep up and am still struggling to find a way to manage without leaving out the many friends I have made here ! Myth Rider said to stop mails but I do not understand but HUGS anyway and I read your mails always, just later sometimes.
    BTW, I was not able to comment on the last post, I guess you closed it? Kathryn

  2. Much as I like The Bee Gees, I don’t know that song. But your post made me think of a song with a similar title,
    ‘I’ve got a message for you’ by Robin Hitchcock, which will be going through my head for the rest of the day!

    • I’m not familiar with Robin Hitchcock, but just spent way more time than I have available this morning listening to some of his tracks on YouTube. 🙂

      • Oh boy, he’s kind of an odd guy, I should have warned you!

        • When I went to YouTube, I saw that he did some of the music and appeared in the wedding band for Jonathan Demme’s movie Rachel Getting Married. Which sort of intrigued me because, although I couldn’t remember any of the specific music, I remembered the wedding scene. The music played on and on, far longer than in most movies and in a way that didn’t seem at first to advance the narrative. Yet, it did make the viewer seem like part of the wedding, although in a way that isn’t necessarily pleasant. Sort of like if you’re at a relative’s wedding or colleague’s son’s bar mitzvah and don’t want to dance but you can’t quite yet leave without being rude, so you sit there and observe but it’s not a lot of fun, kind of boring, and yet you’re surrounded by joy. Which I suppose was exactly the point – that movie was part joyous and part bittersweet and part gut wrenching. And all very true. 🙂

          • He’s probably the least likely person to play at a wedding too, since his songs tend to be a bit surreal! He’s been in a few of Demme’s movies. He had a brief scene in the remake of The Manchurian Candidate too.

  3. Music always connect me to times and places way back in my youth. The BG’s made evergreen recordings

    • That’s probably why several of their 60s recordings received a lot of air play when they re-emerged during the Saturday Night Fever fervor in the late 70’s.

  4. Wonderful pics and song for the challenge, Anne. Love the Bee Gees. 🙂

  5. Oh boy, now I am singing the Bee Gees. 🙂