Deep Blue Seaport (Travel Theme: Deep)


As soon as I read Ailsa’s post this morning, describing this week’s theme of Deep, I knew that I wanted to post one of the many (I mean many!) harbor and port photos I took on my vacation.   As you may have guessed from my last post, I spent some time in France.

But, before I went to France, I had a very different type of trip:  a cruise around the Adriatic.   I have always been skeptical – sometimes outright disdainful – about the idea of taking a cruise:  a floating city of tourists just seemed contrary to the type of travel I have always done.  But, when dear friends sponsored a trip through their restaurant, I caved.  The idea of going to Venice with one of the people I traveled through Europe with when I was a college student – when my love of travel first began – was too strong.   I never would have predicted that I would have as much fun as I did.

I’m sure I’ll write more about my experience on a city-ship, but let’s get back to Ailsa’s theme.  I’m not much of a water person; I’m a shore person.  As a non-swimmer, anything over 5 feet of water seems deep to me.   One of the geological features of the Adriatic Sea is not its depth, but its shallowness.   In the Northern Adriatic Basin, near Venice and Trieste, the average depth of the sea is only about 15 meters (49 feet).  Further south, just before the Adriatic flows into the Ionian Sea in the Strait of Otranto, the deepest point of the sea is in the South Adriatic Pit where it reaches a depth 1,233 meters (4,045 feet).

Cargo Ship, Port of Durres, Albania

Cargo Ship, Port of Durrës, Albania

Some of the ports of call on this trip were too shallow for the boat to dock so tender boats were used to take passengers to land.   In those places where the boat docked, I was fascinated by the port.   The Port of Durrës, Albania, is not a typical stopping point for tourists.  I found it the most fascinating place because it was an industrial port.  This is only one of many photos I took of the ships traveling in and out of Durrës.

As for the deep blue sea, regardless of the depth of the sea, the Adriatic was a beautiful shade of deep blue everywhere we went.

Want to participate in this week’s Travel Theme?  Create a post on the theme “Deep” and then share your link on Ailsa’s site.

Here are some of this week’s participants:

Ese’s Voice: Travel Theme Deep

Some Clingy Note: Travel Theme Deep

Max510: Travel Theme Deep

Lanterfanteren: Deep Thoughts

7 responses to “Deep Blue Seaport (Travel Theme: Deep)

  1. Oh that IS a gorgeous deep color. Love!

  2. Pingback: 10-12-13 Travel Theme: Deep | The Quotidian Hudson

  3. vastlycurious.com

    I love to cruise, I am also a shore person NOT a deep water person. Your Adriatic blue is breathtaking Anne!

  4. Just read your ‘about’… photographer, a reader, a writer, a thinker, a dreamer. I think I can tick most of those boxes! Just off for a wander around your blog.. 🙂