5 + 5 X 5 Adrian Pym


I recently asked 5 photographers to share about their work by sharing 5 images and answering 5 questions.   Today, meet Adrian Pym.   Adrian blogs at Adrian Pym Photography.

All photographs in this post are the work of Adrian Pym and are copyrighted by Adrian Pym Photography.

About Adrian:

Adrian is a UK-based amateur photographer with a growing following (according to WordPress stats anyway). Favouring landscape photography of all varieties; rural, coastal and urban, and in mono, colour and selective colour formats. I am also a digital imaging novice trying to learn the complexities of Photoshop and NIK software.

“It is an illusion that photos are made with the camera….they are made with the eye, heart and head” – Henri Cartier-Bresson.  In my case Nikon, Photoshop and NIK Software also play a part!

1.  How did you become interested in photography?   What has kept you interested in it?

I remember picking up my father’s camera and wanting to take photographs, but what really got me passionate about photography was a trip to Sicily when I was 14 or 15.  We stayed overnight on the island of Ustica, just off Palermo.  I awoke early and the hotel room had a view across the bay and I saw an image I had to shoot.  The soft sunrise  playing off the calm sea and silhouetting a yacht as it made its way slowly and silently into the bay.  I even remember waiting to get the position of the yacht and the rising sun in just the right place.  As it was a film camera I had no idea of whether the composition worked, or even if it was in focus and exposed correctly (the light was fairly low).  When it was developed the shot was so good we had it enlarged and framed.

I played around with a film SLR for several years but interest waned.  It wasn’t until I bought my first digital camera, when my eldest son was born, that my interest, and passion, for photography returned.

Just wish I still had a copy of that image from Ustica !

2.  Describe your photography,  e.g., what do you like to shoot the best, how would you describe your style.

Landscape, city and urban, coastal and countryside are my favourite subjects but I have also experimented with still life and abstract.  People tend only to appear to add scale and portrait photography is not something that really interests me.  I have dabbled with some street photography with mixed results.  My style doesn’t have a  name but viewers will see my leaning towards monochrome, black and white which I believe adds to rather than subtracts from an image.

3.  Do you assign yourself photography projects?

Yes – I need to, to maintain my enthusiasm for photography.  I often suffer from photographers block or “shutter seizure”, when I just cannot think of anything to shoot.  I have a long-term project (or is it just a recurring theme?) in that I shoot doors.  It started with a photo course project when I put together a portfolio titled “The Doors of Oxford” and it has now “gone global” with the launch of a dedicated blog with contributors from around the world –  Legion of Door Whores.

WP13-71

4.  What do you know now about photography that you wish you knew when you started?

How would this be helpful to someone just learning about photography?Too many to list really, and I am always learning.  I don’t see myself as a technical photography, I can’t list the correct exposure settings for a given subject, or remember whether f4 or f22 gives more depth of field (I have to stop and think!) but to answer the question with one word, the thing that makes an image is COMPOSITION, get that right and you are nearly there, the other factors will follow.

5.  What was the best piece of advice/information give to you as you were learning photography?

Experiment with different compositions for the same image which helps you understand what works and what doesn’t.

More about Adrian:

Adrian blogs at Adrian Pym Photography and Legion of Door Whores (blog, Facebook).

You can read all of the 5 + 5 X 5 posts here.

13 responses to “5 + 5 X 5 Adrian Pym

  1. I’ve become a big fan of Legion of Door Whores since discovering the links through Adrian’s comments. You shouldn’t pass up looking at it. Go to Adrian’s site. Adrian Pym Photography. Then check out Legion Of Door Whores Blog. Both are worth the visit!

  2. Adrian’s pics are always wonderful. I so enjoy his work.

  3. i love adrian’s work:)

  4. A very interesting post accompanied by some very good mono shots and sound advice.

  5. I feel it such a privilege to be a part of this 5 x 5 x 5. Great work, Adrian!