5+5 x 5 Emilia Brasier Photography


I recently asked 5 photographers to share about their work by sharing 5 images and answering 5 questions.   Today, meet Emilia Brasier who blogs at Emilia Brasier Photography: The View Through My Lens.  All photographs in this post © Emilia Brasier Photography.  Any permission for use must be granted by Emilia Brasier Photography.

Emilia began learning about photography from her mother as a child. She comes from generations of photographers, going as far back as her great-grandfather. Emilia spent hours working in the dark room developing photographs with her Mom while still in elementary school. She also went to college photography classes with her Father as a pre-teen.

As a psychology major in college, Emilia found herself taking a black and white photography class that left her less than invigorated about photography. After photography was put aside for a long while, a trip to Africa reinvigorated her passion for photography. Only recently getting the courage to share her photography with the world, Emilia started her blog a little over a year ago and has been enjoying sharing her photography with readers since. Emilia hopes to one day be able to travel the world taking photographs.

1. How did you become interested in photography?  What has kept you interested in it?

I became interested in photography as a young child, because my Mom was always taking photographs when I was growing up. I enjoyed watching her take photographs and learning from quick little lessons she gave me when I asked to use her camera. I always loved finding those special spots during a hike and having the opportunity to capture those images with the camera.

Photography has kept my interest because, it provides me with an outlet for anxiety, emotion, creativity, and more. My favorite way to use photography is to explore places, old and new, for things that can help me see them in new ways. There are times when I feel a lull in my motivation to pick up the camera, but I find that if I carry my camera around and just keep exploring, it is not hard to find my way back! 

Carosel

Carosel

2. Describe your photography

I like to consider myself an exploratory photographer. Finding places I’ve never been and capturing still life is my deepest passion. I found being in Africa to be extremely inspiring, because everything was new to me. I enjoyed taking pictures of buildings, people, the ocean, and wildlife. I also enjoy event photography, I am venturing into portraits, and hope to get into birth photography within the next year.

Orange Poppy on Step

Orange Poppy on Step

3. Do you assign yourself photography projects?

I don’t really assign myself photography projects, but there are times when I actively work on a certain part of photography, for example close up or macro photography, depth of field, or portrait poses. Recently I have actively been working on becoming more confident in my work by showing people my photography. I have done this by creating a blog and joining the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge.

I would like to eventually choose some specific projects with more direction than I currently employ in my natural exploration of the world.I haven’t really set up projects for myself, in part, because of my full-time involvement with my young family. As my children enter school, I do plan to commit more time to my work at which point I will want some set goals which may involve creating projects.

Peacock 1

Peacock 1

4. What do you know now about photography that you wish you knew when you started?  How would this be helpful to someone just learning about photography?

One of the biggest things I wish I had known is to take photos of same subject from many different angles, distances, and with different exposures. Experimentation has been a huge help in developing my skills. I think this is one of the major benefits to digital photography, because experimentation is affordable and extremely important to improvement. At least that has been my experience. 

I think trying to see your subject in new ways is really key for any person interested in photography. Although it is nice to know exactly what you want and shoot just for that, it is equally important to look to stretch your ability, knowledge, and creativity by trying things that may not have been your first idea. Often I like the photo that I thought I wanted, but there are probably an equal or greater number of times when I like one of the more experimental shots more so.

Peacock 2

Peacock 2

5. What was the best piece of advice/information given to you as you were learning photography?

The best piece of advice given to me about photography was just recently. It was that if I have a strong idea about photography, even if it does not follow current trends, it may be enjoyed by many and help me stand out as a photographer. Staying true to oneself will set you apart from the rest.

Petal In PInk

Petal In PInk

See more of Emilia’s work at her blog.

You can find the entire 5 + 5 x 5 series here.

2 responses to “5+5 x 5 Emilia Brasier Photography

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Sea | Emilia Brasier Photography

  2. A good start to the series…