Sunday Quote, 2013, Week 8, Hugo


To love another person is to see the face of God.  ~ Victor Hugo

To infinity and beyond

To infinity and beyond

5 responses to “Sunday Quote, 2013, Week 8, Hugo

  1. I haven’t seen the movie yet, but every clip I’ve seen and the soundtrack snips I have heard left me cold too. I don’t think I’ll be seeing it because I’ve seen it on stage so many times and I’m pretty saturated. 🙂 I still love this quote, of course!

  2. I have to agree that the stage version was far better. There were some moments I was moved by by a lot left me cold. And that’s weird for me with such an emotional story line. Love the colours in your image!

  3. One of my favorites – in the song, it always makes me cry!

    • When I found this quote (a long time ago) I didn’t realize it was from Les Miserables. And I didn’t realize it was in one of the songs until your comment. You will likely disagree — as did most people I know — but I really, really, disliked the movie. I never saw the stage production. I didn’t mind the music, and I was so looking forward to the entire movie being sung; I’m a big opera fan so this held a lot of potential for me. But I almost left the movie about 1/2 way through. My husband was a little irritated with me I think when I laughed aloud, unable to contain myself, during the last scene. It probably didn’t help that there were only about 6 other people in the theatre at the time and I’m sure I annoyed them with my snicker during the emotional ending. I don’t think much of Sasha Baron Cohen, but he was what I liked the best about the movie.

      • oops,,, meant to post thecomment here! –
        I think the stage version is more compelling. I’m not sure Mssrs. Crowe and Jackman’s songs benefitted from the one-take thing.They added a song – and removed one – for the movie, and they changed where some others were sung. Valjean sings your line in the stage version as he’s dying. I think Fantine may have sung it in the movie. In any case, my favorite songs are the rousing numbers sung by the masses at the end of each act – Do you Hear the People Sing/Tomorrow Comes – and the mournful Empty Chairs at Empty Tables. I have the cast album with Colm Wilkinson (the bishop in the movie), which I love. When my daughter (now in her 40′s) was in high school, her choir did a long medley of Les Mis songs, and she sang I Dreamed a Dream – that’s my favorite performance of that song!