A few of my favorite things


Flowers and the beach are a winning combination for me.   I found this flower, an East-Coast Dune Sunflower,  blooming at the edge of the beach the other day, following a wind storm.  Love the sand in the center of the flower.

FlowerEmerson-Web

Linking up again with Kim Klassen’s Texture Tuesday.

This image was created in Photoshop Elements 8, using 4 different textures by  Kim Klassen.  First, I used Unleashed (Opacity “Pin Light”, 40%), with the texture removed from the flower.   Then applied Sunkissed (Normal @ 100%) & MusicLoving (Overlay).  Merged both textures & deleted portion over the flower and changed Opacity to Hue reduced to 15%.  Copied Hue layer, and removed center, creating a lighter edge around image.  Added text, then merged all layers before appling texture Elevate (Opacity Darken at 25%),  copied this layer again, removing all of layer except the outside edge, creating a darker frame.  Flattened all layers.  Et Voila!

17 responses to “A few of my favorite things

  1. Beautiful application of textures. Love seeing flowers on this snowy night.

  2. A wonderful image and I love the quote.

  3. Oh, I love this photo, Anne Camille! Flowers and the beach are two of my muses, too. And how can we not love Kim’s wonderful textures! So happy to find you here.

  4. One can never go wrong with daisies!

    To answer your question about my photo (weathered wood), it was taken on the Naples beach a couple of weeks ago – but it is of wood pilings south of the pier, not the pier itself.

    • Yes, I know the place you’re talking about. I thought that was the old pier, but I haven’t been there in a few years. Have been to Naples recently (we stay further north in Fort Myers Beach) but didn’t go out to the pier this year.

  5. So very pretty.

  6. So lovely to see such a bright colour on a grey day…

  7. It’s midwinter here, so flowers are only in florist shops and grocery stores. But on a quick trip to the west side of Oregon, I saw some roses still blooming. They were sad because it has been cold there, too.

    • I’ve been fortunate to spend the last few weeks in sunny Florida. I certainly will miss the flowers, the beach and the sun as soon as I head for home where it, too, is cold and flower-less this time of year.

  8. Love this bright bloom with your quote! Beautiful!!

  9. Lovely image and use of texture! And what a great quote! Thanks for visiting my site- that was a fascinating story!

  10. Lovely pop of yellow – i went for yellow this week too! Lovely processing and great quote.