Fibonacci and String(s) Theory? Weekly Photo Challenge – Geometry


I am fascinated by geometric shapes in nature:

Spiral and String Theory:  Whelk Egg Case and Seaweed

I found this Lightening Whelk Egg Case on a South Florida beach last January, following a strong storm. Egg cases of this size are not typically found ashore as the whelk anchors them  in deep water using the smaller end of the chain. While I don’t know if the egg case has a Fibonacci pattern, the lightening whelk’s shell does.

Here the egg case is twisted into a shape. The egg case spirals upon itself if you hold it by one end. I think it resembles a snake.  When I first found this, I didn’t know if it was animal, vegetable or mineral!  Each link in the spiral can hold up to 150 eggs.  As they hatch, the whelks will eat their weaker siblings, then eat their way out of the case.  Albumin and eggs were visible in some of the links, although they are not viable once loosened from their anchors.

Lightening Whelk Egg Case

This is for this week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge. This week’s topic is Geometry. Be sure to check out what other bloggers have posted for this challenge.

33 responses to “Fibonacci and String(s) Theory? Weekly Photo Challenge – Geometry

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry (5) « What's (in) the picture?

  2. Pingback: Cool Geometry | Four Deer Oak

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry (4) « What's (in) the picture?

  4. My writing group wrote Fibonacci poems. We’re wordy, not much for math. But it was an interesting excerize. Your photos Allow me to see things in a new way.

  5. Fabulous image Anne.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry (3) « What's (in) the picture?

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry (2) « What's (in) the picture?

  8. Hello… Thanks for the pingback! I mentioned Fibonacci as well. We must have had similar thoughts / Love your shots very much!

  9. hey hey hey I mentioned Fibonacci as well! I Love it and I loved your images very very much.

  10. Thanks for linking back to my blog! Have a great day. Andy

  11. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry | The Blog Farm - A Growing Blog Community

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry « What's (in) the picture?

  13. Wow! Fascinating in every way.

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry | Mirth and Motivation

  15. You should attach a link to the word “whelk” describing what it is, because now I have to go look it up!

  16. Northern Narratives

    This is very interesting. Sometimes I use the Fibonacci pattern when I knit 🙂

  17. Fascinating, really enjoyed the pictures!

  18. Wonderful! Such great photos and a seashore biology lesson to boot.

    • I’m fascinated by the sea life that I find washed ashore on beaches. I’ve wondered if I would be so interested in them if I lived near the beach instead of only vacationing there. But, on my last beach vacation I loved finding shells and then trying to figure out what they were. Interestingly, most people I asked, including people who were regularly collecting shells on the beach, had no idea what this was.

      • Isn’t that something? I love to do the research. Lots of times I’ll read up before a trip, then when I see something different I can identify it. It’s all part of the fun for me!

  19. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge GEOMETRY |

  20. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry | Mike Hardisty Photography

  21. Pingback: Far Away » Weekly Photo Challenge: Geometry