No Ordinary Spider — Or Is It The Web? (Travel Theme: Spooky)


Since it’s the spooky time of year, what with Monday’s full moon, Frankenstorm and everything, I thought I’d post this photo that I took several weeks ago.

It was a rainy day and I was trying to photograph what should have been the last of the roses in my mother’s garden. Although the only petals on her roses are now on the ground, there are still roses blooming elsewhere around town. It was near 80 degrees earlier this week. Roses and 80 degrees in late October in Indiana: now that is freaky! But, as a Hoosier poet once said: The frost is on the pumpkin. (That’s probably the only line of James Whitcomb Riley’s poetry that I remember from grade school).

When trying to frame a photo of a rose hip, I saw this spectacular web suspended between two roses, shimmering with raindrops, on a gray afternoon. Now that is poetic, freaky, beautiful!

I think I need to reread Charlotte’s Web.

“I don’t understand it. But for that matter I don’t understand how a spider learned to spin a web in the first place. When the words appeared, everyone said they were a miracle. But nobody pointed out that the web itself is a miracle.”

“What’s miraculous about a spider’s web?” said Mrs. Arable. “I don’t see why you say a web is a miracle – it’s just a web.”

“Ever try to spin one?” asked Dr. Dorian.”

As creepy as it gets around here…

 

This is my contribution to Ailsa’s Travel Theme.  This week’s theme:  Spooky!

13 responses to “No Ordinary Spider — Or Is It The Web? (Travel Theme: Spooky)

  1. Love this image Anne. I never kill spiders even though I was raised with lots of poisonous ones. I think Charlotte’s Web got to me at a young age.

  2. Just a stunning shot! The dew drops are just gorgeous! 🙂

  3. Brilliant picture, Anne. How did you achieve the blurry background? I’m doing a photography course at the moment, and am just learning about depth of field. is it something to do with that? Thank you. Blessings.

    • Went back to check the exif data — shot at F8, 1/60, ISO 400, at 250mm. The lens probably had a lot to do with it in this case. There is lots of space between the web and the house, so that helped to blur it. That just happened to be the lens I had with me that day.

      • You might find this article helpful on lens, settings, etc for blurred backgrounds. http://digital-photography-school.com/how-to-achieve-blurred-backgrounds-in-portraits
        Lots of cool things & useful info on this web site.

      • Thank you, Anne, for taking the time to reply. I’ve tried every combination I can think of and I still cant get a blurred background. It’s not a DSLR camera so maybe it just cant manage it. Bless you. I really do appreciate your help.

        • What kind of camera are you using? Can you adjust the settings & the focus yourself or are you using it in automatic. I’ve found that most “auto” settings try to get everything in focus.

          • No, I’m using manual mode. Camera is Samsung WB500. Built in lens 42mm wide lens, 28mm tele. The course teaches that you need to use a wide aperture [small f number] to get the desired effect. I’ve tried all the combinations and the image still turns out all very clear. I’m obviously doing something wrong, but I just cant find out what. I need to solve the problem because it is included in the end of course assignment in 5 weeks time!!

  4. Beautiful web! I’ve been having a love/hate relationship with spiders lately. I hate the ones outside who are smothering my plants and who now attach their webs to my front door and stick me in the face when I leave. I love the baby daddy longlegs inside and we’ve named it Charlotte (without saying it, in my head) and allowed it to stay because the first day I noticed it, there was a tiny little bug in its web so I got it – it’s going to help me. I hate the huge daddy longlegs that freaked me out and made my skin crawl when I was tossing stuff in the outside storage area today.

    • I find them rather creepy, but I’ve never been able to kill them. I just sweep them out the door! As long as they are far away from me, I’m okay with them.

      • Ha ha! I used to have a friend who would let the daddy long legs live in her shower and not bug them but if they dropped into her personal showering space, they were goners! 🙂