Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy


In the comments section of the last Weekly Photo Challenge, a few participants who responded with links early, were reprimanded for using something from their archives. Pfffft! Really? Often it just isn’t possible to go take a picture to fit the theme. Although I wasn’t one of those reprimanded, I was rather honked off: it seemed unprofessional of the WP staff and a bit too much on the other side of “nice & friendly”, which is how I’ve always viewed this weekly “challenge”. I don’t do this for accolades, for prizes, or to be treated like an errant school child. I enjoy looking at what others post, seeing how they have interpreted the challenge. Sometimes it is quite a challenge to figure out an angle for a one-word challenge and then finding a photograph to fit. Other times, I have something in mind immediately and can’t wait to grab my camera and compose a shot that is just right.

Today’s challenge — to use multiple images portraying what makes you happy — is a perfect example of a time when my archives are ripe for the challenge and taking a new shot is just not possible. Some of these things portrayed below are nowhere near where I am at the moment. Looking at the photographs makes me happy, a poor substitute for the real thing, but they still sustain a level of happiness and bring a smile to my face. Others, as you might deduce from the images below, are just not possible to get a great shot of, but I have something that will do to convey the idea.

Silly rules! I’ll likely continue to use images from my archives because I like participating in this challenge, and although it is rare that I have the time to look at everybody’s entry — a feat I have managed once or twice — I like looking at whatever the participants offer, whether it was taken within the hour, day or week of the posting, or if it is something treasured from years ago.

The number one thing that makes me happy: my family. But they don’t like to pose for photographs and they wouldn’t like identifying photographs to appear in this space.

A reluctant subject: My favorite camera phone picture of all time.

What else makes me happy?
Early morning light, early evening/sunset light, walking along a path, finding a place of solitude within the woods to stop, reflect and observe. From many of the images elsewhere on this blog you shouldn’t be surprised that birds, blooms, beaches make me happy, as well as the critters who wander through my woods. And then there are things that don’t translate well into photos: reading, walking, cooking. And taking photographs of it all along the way.

A suggestion in this week’s challenge is to use one of the new gallery formats. I like this one, in the rectangular style. I would like it better if I could arrange where in the gallery the photos appeared. Hover over each photo to see the caption, or click on any one to scroll through the gallery one picture at a time. Be sure to check out others’ contributions to HAPPY.

22 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy

  1. I agree, too. It doesn’t matter when the pictures were taken, or, to me, even if they are reblogged. I just like looking at everyone’s submissions. And seeing other’s blogs—like yours, Anne. Your photos are wonderful, all of them, although I might be a bit partial to the golden sun streaming through the trees, and the one of your son’s hand. Classic. Thank you for following my blog, and I’m definitely reciprocating.

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy « Authentic Photography

  3. Excellent selection Anne! I think what they were suggesting is that we write a post for the challenge rather than repost one that fits with the same set of photos… At least that is how I understood it. It would be hard to do all the photo challenges from scratch every week… Sometimes the perfect shots are the ones in our folders/archives. 🙂

    • When I read the comments, the remark was to post a “new” photo. I went back to the comments this morning and see that it was later clarified that it shouldn’t be from a previous post. I agree that just posting a link to an older post isn’t the objective but I don’t think that the two posters were trying to be spammy or bomb the comments with links. There were others who commented as well regarding the WP hosts comment that were seen as a bit pf a reprimand. I like seeing others photos and I could care less if it was posted previously or not, but I guess my objectives are different than the hoste, which is okay.

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy « What's (in) the picture?

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy | R Shad

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy! | The Blog Farm - A Growing Blog Community

  7. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Happy! | Mirth and Motivation

  8. Great photos, Anne. Archives come in very useful for the challenges; in fact sometimes it’s the only way. 🙂

  9. you have some great images Anne. i agree about wishing you had more control of image placement with this

    • Maybe they’ll make that improvement in the future. I tried to use the order syntax in the text view, but it really messed things up. If I want to do a collage in the future, i may stick with pulling my edited images into picmonkey.com. It’s easy to use and gives you a lot of flexibility on placement and size.

  10. Veronica Roth

    Very surprised at the WP people reaction. Doesn’t seem like there are any rules around this challenge so doesn’t seem cricket. Sympathy; how awkward for you. Love the shot of your boy. Mine does this too because he’s sick of having the camera in his face for the past 32 years. Silly boy, I get him in the end anyway. 🙂

    • Veronica, I was not one of the people called out for this; I just thought it was ridiculous.
      I took thephoto of my son a few years ago. He wouldn’t be amused if I did it today either. :-).

  11. What a lovely collection of happy shots! Anne, I have lost track of the Weekly Photo Challenge so I was very surprised to learn of the archival admonishment which is such a hoot considering some of the past lots like . . . summer, winter, fall and spring. I appreciate your attitude, and your great shots!

  12. I love your photos. The pelican reminds me of my time in New Orleans and seeing the pelicans on Lake Pontchartrain. I can see why these make you Happy, even the reluctant one 😉

  13. Ooooh, I agree! I don’t think using shots taken previously should be excluded! And I love your ‘Happy’ montage!

  14. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Happy | Chittle Chattle

  15. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Happy | Just Snaps