Sunday Quote (2012, Week 35): Neil Armstrong


It suddenly struck me that that tiny pea, pretty and blue, was the Earth.  I put up my thumb and  shut one eye, and my thumb blotted out the planet Earth.  I didn’t feel like a giant.  I felt very, very small.   ~ Neil Armstrong

Statue of Neil Armstrong, Armstrong Hall of Engineering, School of Aeronautical and Astronautical Engineering at Purdue University, West Lafayette, Indiana.

August 5, 1930 – August 25, 2012.  The press has reported that his family’s  request is that the next time one sees a full moon, think of Neil and wink.

4 responses to “Sunday Quote (2012, Week 35): Neil Armstrong

  1. I’ll make sure we do that. He was such a graceful symbol of human achievements and strivings that can’t and shouldn’t be measured in terms of hard cash.

    • You are so right, Gabriel. A few years ago, Purdue had a opening ceremony for the Armstrong building and the dedication of this statue. Several astronauts were invited and numerous events, some for big donors, were planned. (Bit of aerospace trivia: more US astronauts have graduated from Purdue than anywhere else.) Armstrong was there for a portion of it, but left earlier than expected, not attending some events. My son, who was an AAE student at the time, told me that he thought that Armstrong left because the school officials were making too big of a deal about it and there were too many people in attendance. No idea if that was the reason, but I think it raised my son’s already strong appreciation of Armstrong. He’s one of the reasons that my son studied Astro Engineering & went to Purdue. I was grateful that it was only 1.5 hrs away, because he would have gone there even if it was 1000 miles away.

  2. Great quote from a great man, thanks for sharing.