Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused


I tried to capture several shots of these birds (Black Skimmers) last winter on a stormy day at the beach. They would move in unison a few feet down the sand about every minute or two, only flying for a short distance. Sometimes they would take off, head towards the water, then drift back on the thermals to land in nearly the same location before flight. They were fun to watch, but difficult to capture. I thought this photo was a good choice for this challenge as it captures their movements. Although there were several that were in focus, the unfocused one — the accidental, unintended capture — is the one that I think captures their movements best.

Black Skimmers, stormy beach, Fort Myers Beach, Florida

Black Skimmers

Here is a better overall shot, but more in-focus, than the above:

Black Skimmers, Fort Myers Beach, Florida,

Black Skimmers, In Motion Before the Storm

This is an entry into this week’s WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge. To see other entries, check the comments in the post.

23 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused

  1. Nice shot 🙂

  2. You’re right. The first one is more effective with the mix of focus and “out of”….nice shot!

  3. These photographs are great – I can feel and sense the flutter of the birds’ wings. Thank you for sharing this.

  4. Really love the first shot, nicely done!

  5. Fantastic – love how the red comes out in the first shot!

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  7. I love that first shot. It has a very graphic feel to it. That splash of orange from their beaks too is great.

    • Thanks for stopping by and commenting PurpleDog. I love their orange beaks and legs. So pretty, especially when they show up on the beach on a stormy day!

  8. I really like these two images!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Unfocused « 3rdculturechildren

  10. Wow don’t they look awesome in flight!

    • They are very interesting birds. They only show up on the gulf coast beaches when there is a storm out at sea. The black and white contrast is something to see when the entire flock takes flight at once.

  11. Like fancy wallpaper. I like it. Cool image. I like the general out of focus look here because it enhances the sense of energy and movement within the image. Well done.

    • Thanks, Terry. See my comment below. I think it would have worked better if there had been some focus with the rest out of focus showing movement. Sometimes we learn from our mistakes — and I have lots of them to learn from!

  12. I love the out-of-focus flying birds. It would have been nice to get just one of the standing birds in focus though …

    • I agree! Focus on the birds in the foreground would have much improved this shot. I probably wouldn’t have posted this if it were not for this week’s challenge. I was surprised that I had not deleted it when I ran across it the other day.

  13. It’s an interesting take with the motion and stillness together.