Zippity-Do-Dah! It’s zee end. (I’ve always been a nerd.)


Zippity-do-dah! I made it through the A to Z Challenge. But ‘Z’? Like the other less commonly used letters in the alphabet, Z isn’t an easy prompt.

What do Bettle, Ky, Wink, TX, Searchlight, NV, Santa Claus, IN, Sandwich, NH, Iceberg, PA, Sunflower, KS, Money, MS, and Toast, NC all have in common? They were on my favorite thermos and lunch box set from the mid-1960’s. I think I had this in 3rd grade.

The Postal Museum has lots of information on the Mr. Zip campaign launched to help promote the use of Zip Codes when they were instituted in 1963. Although he began his life in an ad for Chase Manhattan Bank, and was later acquired by AT&T, Mr. Zip became the face of Zip Codes and the US Postal Service for many years.

Did you know that ZIP is an acronym for Zone Improvement Plan?

Or that Ethel Merman did a PSA to promote the use of ZIP?

Or that some conspiracy theorists thought that Zip Codes were a communist plot?

Who knew that the term “Snail Mail” had been used before email?

I don’t remember any of that, but I do remember the Mr. Zip lunch box. I thought it was the coolest thing ever, especially the red flag that you could raise and lower on the side of the box. One could buy this without a thermos today on eBay for $9.99; a new one in mint condition with the thermos, for $99.99.

Maybe I should have held on to that piece of memorabilia? Nah…but the memories are fun!

This post is part of the Blogging A to Z Challenge. Today’s letter is Z. Thanks for stopping by. Please leave a comment and let me know what you think. You can find other A to Z participants by clicking on the graphic. You’ll find an index of all of my A to Z blog posts here.

9 responses to “Zippity-Do-Dah! It’s zee end. (I’ve always been a nerd.)

  1. I still have my Smokey the Bear lunchbox – it’s vinyl, and not exactly in pristine condition, but it’s one of the few childhood possessions I still have. I remember going to buy it – I had saved up the 45 cents – and suddenly learning about sales tax.

    I also remember that just before the zip code came along, my address included “Syracuse 20, New York.” … an address that is now located in zip code 13210.

    Ahhh, a walk down memory lane…

    • I liked Smokey the Bear too! I tried to describe this lunchbox to 3 of my co-workers a few years ago — a Chinese and 2 Russian nationals. The reactions were priceless!

      • I can only imagine!

        One of my photo challenges this week is to photograph something meaningful to ourselves. Maybe it’s time to pull out the lunchbox again.

  2. Congratulations! You are free to breathe and relax now šŸ™‚ šŸ™‚

  3. Hot diggity. I learned something new today. Thanks. šŸ˜‰

  4. Awesome on congrats on your ending, was wonderful following your blogging Ato Z!!!