Sunday Quote (2012 Week 18)


As the poet said, ‘Only God can make a tree,’ probably because it’s so hard to figure out how to get the bark on. ~ Woody Allen

Green tiger beetle

Green Tiger Beetle (Cicindela sexguttata) on fallen tree, with bark

4 responses to “Sunday Quote (2012 Week 18)

  1. What an interesting shot. And, I remember having come across that quote before, but reading it here makes me LOL again. That might be the best evidence of humor, it doesn’t fail to make you laugh time and time again.

  2. Great quote and cute bug.

    • I was fascinated with this bug when I found him a few weeks ago, while hiking in the woods. I’m not much on identifying insects but it was easy to find out this guy online because his markings and color are so distinctive. He moved pretty quickly, so none of the shots were very good — plus it would have been better if I had had my macro lens, but since I was sitting in the woods hoping to see birds, I had a long lens. Can’t really tell in the photo but his legs are really blue. I guess some of the green tiger beetles can be all blue, but they’re still called “green”.