One Short Post Containing One Photo, One Poem, One Order


One photo: One branch, two catkins, four leaves.

One pussy willow branch

One poem:

One Hundred Love Sonnets: XVII
Pablo Neruda
Translated by Mark Eisner

I don’t love you as if you were a rose of salt, topaz,
or arrow of carnations that propagate fire:
I love you as one loves certain obscure things,
secretly, between the shadow and the soul.

I love you as the plant that doesn’t bloom but carries
the light of those flowers, hidden, within itself,
and thanks to your love the tight aroma that arose
from the earth lives dimly in my body.

I love you without knowing how, or when, or from where,
I love you directly without problems or pride:
I love you like this because I don’t know any other way to love,
except in this form in which I am not nor are you,
so close that your hand upon my chest is mine,
so close that your eyes close with my dreams.

One word comment: Discuss.

This post is part of the Blogging A to Z Challenge. Today’s letter is O. Thanks for stopping by. Please leave a comment and let me know what you think. You can find other A to Z participants by clicking on the graphic. You’ll find an index of all of my A to Z blog posts here.

3 responses to “One Short Post Containing One Photo, One Poem, One Order

  1. You are so creative with this challenge Anne! I look forward to seeing what you will come up with next! Lovely post!

  2. One word comment: Inspired.

    Okay so I can’t keep my comment to just one word. Hahaha. Love the image with the Neruda poem. I think this is my overall favorite so far in this a-z challenge.