Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects


Bridge & Tree

Upstate Manhattan: Bridge and Tree

I found this week’s challenge to live up to its name: challenging! As I scrolled through my photo archives trying to find a photo, I found very few that I considered even approaching the compositional challenge of two distinct subjects. It wasn’t until I went back to nearly a year ago (last Easter Sunday, April 24, 2011) that I found this shot. As I thought about it, I decided that part of my challenge was that, even when I have two different objects, I come to think of them as one, as a tableau. It is difficult for me to separate them, to think of them as different subjects, even if there are different focal points vying for the viewer’s attention. But, I think that this shot does do that. Is it about the tree, still bare in the Spring, not even beginning to show signs of budding while those on the opposite bank are? Is it about the bridge, the towering, looming George Washington, an icon of engineering, an intrusion of steel into the tree-lined Palisades? Or is the shot about both of these things, a juxtaposition of the straight lines of the bridge and the curvilinear lines of the tree? The opposition of the horizontal and the vertical? About nature — the trees and the river — and man’s adaptation of it — an enormous bridge that connects? Is it about a piece of park-like scenery in the midst of the enormous city? I think it is about all of these. Two subjects. Maybe more.

Taken with a Canon Rebel XSi, ISO 100, 55mm, f/22, 1/40 EV -2. I was just starting to learn how to use my camera in creative mode when I took this, but still relying mainly on the camera to select the settings. I wasn’t surprised when I checked the exif data that I shot this in Aperture Priority mode. I have no idea why EV was set to -2. Likely I had changed it for a previous shot and forgotten to adjust it afterwards. And I can’t believe that even with IS, I didn’t have more camera shake at 1/40. I would do this shot so differently now.

Be sure to check out other entries in this week’s Weekly Photo Challenge.

Likely won’t be blogging any more today, so I’m going to use this as today’s entry in the A to Z Blogging Challenge: M for Manhattan. I could use so many other photos to talk about one of my most favorite cities to visit, but I think that this one illustrates one of the things that I find fascinating about New York: it’s variety. Without the George Washington Bridge, this shot could be many places and nothing would identify it as being in Manhattan. I love the green spaces in NYC. Although they aren’t as plentiful as one might like, they are a respite from the concrete canyons most are likely familiar with from photos of New York.

This post is part of the Blogging A to Z Challenge. Today’s letter is M. Thanks for stopping by. Please leave a comment and let me know what you think. You can find other A to Z participants by clicking on the graphic. You’ll find an index of all of my A to Z blog posts here.

25 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects

  1. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects [as one composition] « 3rdculturechildren

  2. Lovely composition. I like how the branches of the tree appear to entwine with the bridge.

    • Thanks. The branches, while obviously not nearly tall enough to reach the bridge, are actually quite a distance down the bank from the base of the bridge too. It’s been almost a year since I’ve been in this particular park so I may not be remembering correctly, but I think there is actually a wide green area with lawn and benches between the tree and the bridge where several people were sitting, picnicking, and fishing,

  3. Wow! Great photo!!!

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects « My 2012 Photo Challenge

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects | Cardboard Me Travels

    • Thanks, Jo. I like the last image in your post. I thought there were two statues at first. Love how the man sitting on a bench is juxtaposed with the statue of the man sitting on a bench.

  6. Stopping by from the challenge. Wonderful picture

  7. Like your entry for this week’s challenge – you really focus on the two subjects and the background becomes a part of the, well background 🙂

    • I didn’t really think much about this shot when I took it, but I’m glad that I wasn’t hitting “delete” frequently back then. I really like it now, even though it didn’t impress me much at the time.

  8. Love it! One of the best so far!

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Two Subjects « 3rdculturechildren

  10. This photo is excellent… like a screen shot from a film noir.

  11. G-Doubleyah! Great shot.

  12. I didn’t realize until after I published this post, how WP cropped (and stretched) the photo for the feature post banner (at the top). I would never have thought to crop it that way, but I like it. It makes it an entirely different photo than the other within the body of the post, although both still meet the “Two Subjects” challenge.