Inspired by Goldsworthy


Last fall, I was posting photos of leaves frequently. On one of my posts, a comment mentioned the artist Andrew Goldsworthy. I had never heard of Goldsworthy before, but that comment sent me on a wonderful web search that lasted for a few hours.

Goldsworthy is a British artist who uses found objects in nature to build installations. Much of his work deals with the impermanence and decay of nature, and of art. Since the installations are not intended to last, Goldsworthy photographs them. But, since they decay, as Goldsworthy has noted,  they still exist in a different form.

Based on that one afternoon of web searching, I decided to use one of Goldsworthy’s ideas and shoot multiple hued leaves. I had already been thinking about how there were so many colors in the fall, but I had no idea when I started that I would be able to find leaves representing every color of the rainbow. You can see my Roy G Biv colored leaves that I did here.   You can read more about Goldsworthy and browse through a catalog of more than 3500 photos here.  It’s a link that may suck you in, but if, like me, you find his work fascinating, you won’t even notice the time slipping by.

Here are a few Goldworthy-inspired creations of mine:

Dandelion Clock:

Sun time

A few hours later

A Few Days Later

While Goldsworthy uses pieces and parts of natural objects to construct new objects, I like to deconstruct them. I am amazed at how complex the simplest of flowers can be, at what parts are not seen unless you look carefully. Here are a few examples from weeds and wildflowers I’ve gathered in the last few days:

Blue Violet Deconstructed

Sweet White Violet Pieces

Star-of_Bethlehem, Exploded

Purple Dead-nettle Bits

This post is part of the Blogging A to Z Challenge. Today’s letter is G. Thanks for stopping by. Please leave a comment and let me know what you think. You can find other A to Z participants by clicking on the graphic. You’ll find an index of all of my A to Z blog posts here.

12 responses to “Inspired by Goldsworthy

  1. Beautiful work! I really liked the sunflower clock. Looking forward to your other posts!

    ~Lynn

  2. PS. I love Purple Dead Nettle-Bits!

  3. If you like Goldsworthy you MUST see the documentary on his work called “Rivers and Tides”. It is absolutely stunning to watch his process and see some of his work in motion.

    • I’ve wanted to see this for some time. Your comment prompted me to see if it was available in Netflix. It’s now in my queue. If only I had 90 minutes today to watch it!

  4. Awesome catalogue! Definitely sucks you in!
    I love your creative take on the A-Z challenge!

    • Glad that you liked it. I looked through the first few hundred without knowing how many there were, then had to start scrolling through. Definitely a lot to revisit in his catalog.

  5. So I see you’re a Deconstructionist.

    Steve Schwartzman
    http://portraitsofwildflowers.wordpress.com

    • I do like seeing the individual pieces and parts, but flowers are the only things I take apart. No pulling off wings on bees, or legs on spiders! 🙂 While I had lots of fun making the dandelion clock, I think I was more fascinated by the revealing the interior parts of the flowers by dissecting them. Am fascinated by the dead-nettle. As I took it apart, I thought it was a Fibonacci number (1+1+3+5), but then was a bit disappointed when I realized that there were only 4 on the last row. I’ll have to look at some others this week and see if this one lost some leaves. Nature is endlessly fascinating to me.

  6. Lovely Goldsworth inspired works. He’s one of my favorite artists.