Weekly Photo Challenge: Contrast


Today, after walking about 6.5 miles, I stopped at a bench along the trail. I stretched out along the length of the bench, but I was concerned that once I laid down, I might not get up again for a while, either because I fell asleep or because it just was not physically possible. As I looked up towards the sky, I couldn’t help but notice the contrasting white and black branches against the cloudless, blue sky. Camera to the rescue: of course I could move! I reached down into my backpack for my camera, focused and started shooting.

Yin/Yang Branches: Birch & Elm

Not sure which was more energizing — the physical rest or the calm from looking up at the trees. Either way, I soon was on my way, with enough energy for the next 3.75 miles towards home. The final quarter-mile — that’s another story!

31 responses to “Weekly Photo Challenge: Contrast

  1. Hi Anne, You have been nominated for the Versatile Blogger Award. Please accept your award by picking it up here: http://wp.me/23TG1

    BE ENCOURAGED! BE BLESSED!

  2. i can imagine this energised you

  3. What beautiful colours! Wonderful photo!

  4. the marionette

    This is a really nice capture. Great job!

  5. See what we miss when we don’t look up? Nice job.

    Please feel free to drop by and view my interpretation of Contrast:
    https://fstopfantasy.wordpress.com/2012/03/10/weekly-photo-challenge-contrast/

  6. Love how the branch on the right really lights up the scene.

  7. That is an unexpected contrast…beautiful.

    See? You were meant to stop there! 🙂

  8. love the blues..;)

  9. Wow. You captured contrast in a totally unexpected way. I like it. Nicely done.

  10. Great shot – love the contrast. Yes, it would be wonderful to gaze upon that for a while. So much to see. Beautiful.

    • Thanks, Louise. The birch tree was especially amazing. It was across the path and down in a ravine. An enormous tree, its crown must cover about 80 feet.

  11. Beautiful contrast!

  12. I like this photo.

  13. ❤ trees, very nice!

  14. Such a wonderful contrast!