Photographing a Cliché


The Light

At The End

Of The Tunnel

Do you have a cliché you’ve photographed? If so, leave a link in the comments.

17 responses to “Photographing a Cliché

  1. Lovely shots! Shall look around for a cliche shot!

  2. I like that second shot, too… great reflection. Sometimes the best photographic moments are just by chance. 🙂
    The closest I’ve gotten was “don’t put all your eggs in one basket”, as part of a photo hunt: http://photoaspire.wordpress.com/2011/10/21/eggstra-edition/

  3. I think this is very clever. I haven’t any photos like this, but if I get some I’ll let you know.

  4. I don’t think I’ve got any cliches lurking at the moment. I’ve photographed my fair share of dead birds and dead leaves, however.

    • I don’t think that I’ve ever photographed a dead bird, though we have a joke in my family about “dead birds don’t count”. T & I were watching a birding video I picked up at the library when I thought it might be a fun activity that would get us out in nature. The video (and yes, it was a video, VHS I believe!) could best be described as the birder’s version of Wayne’s World, without the ironic or moronic humor: people wearing clothes from the 70’s, filmed in a paneled basement, etc. At one point, just as we were falling asleep, the host says “Remember: dead birds don’t count for your life list.” “Dead birds don’t count” has since been an occasional rejoinder in my house when one thinks someone else is cheating.

    • Love the one in the tree. I hope the couple liked that one!

      • i guess i feel like posed pictures are super CHEESE!

        • Agreed! Engagement photos, wedding photos, expectant mom photos: I think they’re all cliché. What is interesting to me are the trends, both now & in the past. At the funerals of three elderly relatives over the past few years there have been wedding albums at the mortuary, a remembrance of their lives. I was surprised at the first one how much the photos were like my parents. My sister pointed out that it was the same photography studio. At the next funerals, I realized that the photos were by different photogs but the setups & poses were nearly identical.

          The only difference between my uncle’s wedding shots & my parents’ is that there is a photo in my parents album with the bride and attendants standing outside, their long dresses tucked up into their coats, rain hats protecting their hair but nearly obliterating their faces. I remember my mother telling me that she insisted that the photographer take the picture. She thought it was funny and she wanted a remembrance that she got married following one of the worst snowstorms that Chicago had seen in a decade.

  5. great reflexion in the second shot!