Unto Rust


Here are more photos from my series taken at Skiles Test Nature Park earlier this week. As I said in the comments to my post the other day, I came across lots of things that didn’t belong there.

There are places were you can see the remains of the former estate: concrete building blocks in places, a cement pad where an outbuilding once stood, portions of the old gates and fences that have never been torn down completely. But, for years, it was also a dumping ground. Because of the ravines — an upland forest — the interior of this park isn’t that accessible. In places near the creek where I walk regularly, I see where people leave things in the dead of night. Rolled up carpet, extra building supplies, an unwanted aquarium, a bag of trash that missed the weekly collection, a shoe, a sweater: I don’t understand why people throw things out of car windows, but it does make sense that they do it near the roadside, making for a quick escape to avoid being caught and fined.

Explore the Estate! See the Farm!

But, I can’t imagine porting something in nearly a 1/2 mile from the road, up a steep hill and then throwing it in a place where it is only visible from one angle. As I was walking the other day, I saw some graffiti that made me smile, painted on a fallen tree, advertising tours of the property. Of course there aren’t tours here!

Tours? Where's the ticket booth?

I walked the opposite direction from the arrows. And I doubt that dishes were left from a tour group or that the are remnants of the estate that has been gone for over 30 years. Sure, it isn’t necessary to spray paint fallen trees in the middle of the woods, but finding an occassional kid prank seems more likely than what I stumbled upon just beyond as I hiked down a steep ravine. Why on earth would someone need to get rid of three dozen metal trash cans? Why would they have gone to the effort to do it here? These have likely been here for years before the park reopened a few years ago. Even with a four-wheel vehicle, this wouldn’t have been an easy place to get too. Certainly they didn’t carry them all in.

Click on any picture in the gallery to see a larger version.

9 responses to “Unto Rust

  1. I loved the mug too. Fascinating trying to work out what’s behind the rust – the stories …. Great photos.

    • My brain spins quickly when I try to think of possibilities for these. Sometimes the stories I spin are outlandish, ghoulish even. Others, though, bring me back to reality; for example, if these have been here for 20 or 30 years, why did the parks department decide to leave them there when the area was opened up as a park?

  2. Wayside Artist

    The mug is an unusual find. Anne, I like these sorts of photos…the contrast between junk and nature.

    • I wish it wasn’t so high up in the tree so that I could have seen what logo was on it. Looks like there is at least a partial one. But, I couldn’t reach it. I loved how it appeared to have been tossed & just happened to have landed on that branch.

    • It was shocking at first. I was walking down a lesser used path, actually looking west scoping out a possible photoshoot site for a sunset. When I turned around, I saw these. It was fun to go back with my camera and tripod. And the sunset photos. Meh. Definitely not as fun.

      I hoped that you would like these, given your like of rust.