Sunday Quote (2012 Week 7)


‎A poet’s work…to name the unnameable, to point at frauds, to take sides, start arguments, shape the world and stop it from going to sleep.  ~ Salman Rushdie

Mysteries & the Deep Blue Sea

8 responses to “Sunday Quote (2012 Week 7)

  1. The picture is magical. Congratulations. I found the quote interesting, but I might take issue with it as a sweeping statement that needs some discussion.

    • I think that Rushdie is correct that these things are part of a poet’s work, but I do not think that it is exclusively the work of a poet, or that all poetry must do all of these things at one time. That’s a tall order. I think that of all he lists, the actions to “shape the world and stop it from going to sleep” is probably most often what poetry does, in the sense that a poem can present a different perspective on something ordinary. In doing so, it says “Hey, pay attention [wake up!], look at this in this way”. Once you look at something in a new way, you have given it a different shape. If the poem is successful, it has formed that shape in a certain way, though I wouldn’t consider it completely unsuccessful if I were to think “no, that’s not it” and consider a different shape. Either way, it has provoked a consideration.

  2. Actually, just pressing the ‘Like’ button is kind of lazy. It’s glass, then? Thought so [feels smug]. Lovely. And the quote.

  3. This is fantastic. I love the colors, shape and texture. Well done.

    • Thanks, Terry. I was working on some abstracts with glass vases and paperweights. This was an afterthought (it’s the glass top to a wine bottle stopper), but it turned out much better than the vases and paperweights.