We knew it wouldn’t last


Helleborus Orientalis aka Lenten Rose

While Lenten Roses are supposed to be harbingers of Spring, I think it is still a little early for them to be blooming. These were planted about 5 years ago and I’ve never seen them bloom. They were also supposed to be deer-resistant. The deer find them quite tasty.

6 responses to “We knew it wouldn’t last

  1. Interestingly, out here in Oregon, we just refer to them as Hellebores.
    Sorry to hear that they were eaten. Maybe you should get new deer.

    Eric

    • I think that the “lenten roses” are a specific type of Hellebores, but I really don’t know. I wouldn’t replace my deer if I could though. Am happy that they’ve taken up residence on my hillside, especially since several wooded acres across the road were plowed and houses are being built.

  2. I just love your pictures Anne. I really must get out with my camera.

    • Thank you, Natalie. I’ve started to make it a habit to take my camera with me when I take walks. The only problem? Sometimes I spend more time photographing than I do walking!

  3. What a wonderful sign of hope. Thank you for sharing this beautiful photo!

    • A friend of mine informed me that her hellebores usually bloom late February/early March, which is much earlier than I thought they were suppose to. It’s made me wonder if I just haven’t noticed them in the past, not expecting them so early. Or perhaps, I was just too busy and not paying attention to the world around me. Paying attention, being more observant, is something that I’ve been working on being better at.