What Might Be the Best Cranberry Sauce Ever


One of the things that I like the most about a traditional Thanksgiving dinner is cranberries. But, if you are discussing cranberries with me, don’t even think about calling that jelly goo cranberries.

I always make cranberries for my extended family’s Thanksgiving Day dinner, mostly because I don’t want to be served goo. A few years ago, I chanced upon the following recipe for cranberries and it is my go-to means of preparing the delicious little phytochemical-filled bog berries. This recipe comes from Nigella Lawson’s How to Eat, with adjustments for US measurements, and my own twists.

2 12-oz packages of fresh cranberries
5 Tbsp butter (unsalted, preferably)
1.5 c sugar
zest of 2 medium oranges
Juice for 1.5 oranges (eat the other half or use as garnish)
1 1/4 c water
2-3 Tbsp Grand Marnier (Nigella says it’s optional; I suppose it could be)

Bring to a boil. The berries will begin to pop. Lower heat and simmer for about 10 minutes. Remove from heat and taste. Add more sugar if you think it needs it. Let it cool. It will seem very watery, but it will congeal as it cools. Enjoy!

4 responses to “What Might Be the Best Cranberry Sauce Ever

  1. Perfect recipe for Thanksgiving! Sounds great. 🙂

  2. I used to enjoy jogging by the bogs on Cape Cod.

    So no horseradish in your sauce, a la NPR’s Susan Stamberg?

    • I don’t think I’ve ever seen a cranberry bog. And I’ve never tried horseradish in cranberry sauce. It doesn’t seem like a very good combination, given the tartness of the cranberries!