Why I’m afraid that I would never finish Joyce’s Ulysses if I started it


At the end of the book, the characters Molly and Bloom drift off to sleep under “[t]he heaventree of stars hung with humid nightblue fruit.”

I found this quote somewhere yesterday. (I don’t remember where, unfortunately. I’ll update this later if I find it again.)
Update: How could I have forgotten where I saw this? Facebook news feed from Metropolitan Museum of Art referring to Richard Hamilton’s print The Heaventrees of Stars.

How could you ever want to reach the end of something that contains such beauty?

Heaventree of stars

humid nightblue fruit

Absolutely lovely.

Must amend To Be Read list. Must find time.

One response to “Why I’m afraid that I would never finish Joyce’s Ulysses if I started it

  1. I read it in college, but I know I didn’t do it justice. So one of these days I’ll read it again, and I hope to take my time with it and really savor it.