Travel Theme: Wood


Twice in as many weeks, I’ve tried to take a lengthy walk along the shore, past the point where the mangroves jut into the Gulf briefly, before the beach widens once again.   At this point, mangroves have developed between the shoreline and the high-rise hotels.  It’s about 1.5 miles to this point, and is only accessible at low tide.  Beyond here, the beach is usually less crowded with people and more populated with birds.  Each time, I’ve arrived at this point, worked my way through the rough path and stopped to see pelicans, herons, and cormorants resting in a tidal pool.   And, each time, after just a few snaps of the shutter, I’ve heard a clap of thunder and looked up to see enormous, dark clouds moving quickly towards the shore.  “Flash showers” the TV weatherman called them.   “Dangerous” to my camera is what I’ve called them.   Luckily for me, there is a hotel with a beach bar not far from this spot that has been an easy spot to retreat to until the showers flashed over — or until I was “rescued” by my beach-lounging chauffeur.

When I saw that Ailsa’s travel theme this week was wood, I knew that a few of these shots would be a good fit for the theme.

Drifted wood

Drifted wood

Cormorants resting

Cormorants resting

Old Pier Pilings

Old Pier Pilings

Pelican Perch

Pelican Perch

Fallen pine

Fallen pine

About Anne Camille

I bought my first SLR camera (a Yashica TL-ELECTRO) when I was 17 and imagined I would become a great photographer. My love of photography, unfortunately, was thwarted by a photo-journalism class (the first "C" in college, but not the last!) as well as several packages of accidentally exposed photo paper and the high cost of film on a student budget. An unexpected gift of a Canon Rebel xSI four years ago reawakened those old, dormant dreams. A bit wiser now, I knew that photog instructor was full of bs even if technically he was pretty good. I began snapping away and haven't looked back. Mostly, I shoot nature photography because flowers and rocks don't talk back at you when you pose them. I am a photographer, a reader, a writer, a thinker, a dreamer. Mostly you'll see the photographer here, but signs of the others shine through every now and again.
This entry was posted in beach and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Travel Theme: Wood

  1. Sherry Galey says:

    I love driftwood and enjoyed your images of wood and pelicans and cormorants. Aren’t they fun to photograph?

    • Anne Camille says:

      I marvel at the beauty of pelicans. Love to watch them sail & swoop over the shore. And the cormorants! Can’t decide if they are unafraid of humans or just don’t care about us. I could have moved closer to the birds on the pilings (if I had had rain gear and wasn’t concerned about drenching my camera) and they wouldn’t have flown away.

  2. What wonderful woody images!

  3. Perfect! Love the old piers!

  4. Pingback: Travel Theme-Wood | WoollyMuses

  5. Ruth says:

    ESpecially like the rhythm and repetition of the cormorants on the posts. Nice.

  6. Indira says:

    Very beautiful, fascinating photographs.

Comments are closed.