Weekly Photo Challenge – Dreaming (and a bit of flash fiction)


I walked quickly up the steps, careful not to trip over the roots erupting from the stones. I shouldn’t be here. As I climb each step my vision grows narrower. My heart pounds. In the shadows I can only focus on a few steps in front of me. I am approaching the house, but I can only see the limbs and cobwebs. A spider moves. A few minutes before there had been no breeze. It had been light. Or just a light. I don’t remember.

In the morning, a photograph sits on the dresser. Did I awake here yet?

This is part of the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge. This week’s theme is Dreaming. Check out others’ contributions here.

About Anne Camille

I bought my first SLR camera (a Yashica TL-ELECTRO) when I was 17 and imagined I would become a great photographer. My love of photography, unfortunately, was thwarted by a photo-journalism class (the first "C" in college, but not the last!) as well as several packages of accidentally exposed photo paper and the high cost of film on a student budget. An unexpected gift of a Canon Rebel xSI four years ago reawakened those old, dormant dreams. A bit wiser now, I knew that photog instructor was full of bs even if technically he was pretty good. I began snapping away and haven't looked back. Mostly, I shoot nature photography because flowers and rocks don't talk back at you when you pose them. I am a photographer, a reader, a writer, a thinker, a dreamer. Mostly you'll see the photographer here, but signs of the others shine through every now and again.
This entry was posted in Fiction, Photo and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge – Dreaming (and a bit of flash fiction)

  1. Jacqueline says:

    I love this picture and the story…I would love to read more…very nice

  2. Great image and love the colours.

  3. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Dreaming | Chittle Chattle

  4. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge – Dreaming | Just Snaps

  5. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming | Wind Against Current

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  7. Wonderful image and post!!

  8. Jude says:

    Hey Ann – just another note to say thank you for liking my blog enough to follow it! :)

  9. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming « Ben Williams' World

  10. murphy says:

    Good combination of words and photo!

  11. Catherine says:

    Kind of spooky! It makes you question: reality or dream?

  12. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Dreaming. « 3rdculturechildren

  13. Great combination.

  14. Inga says:

    Beautiful picture!

  15. Jude says:

    Fascinating! Sounds like the start of a good story.

Comments are closed.