Entwined, Entangled


On land:

Tree And Vine

Entwined Branches

Entwined, Twisted

Interdependent

Thorny Entanglment

And by the sea…

Entanglement on the Beach

In The Wrack Line

Washed Ashore

Pen Shell and Seaweed

Entwined Sea Life: Brittle Stars and Whelk Egg Case

This post is part of the Blogging A to Z Challenge. Today’s letter is E. Thanks for stopping by. Please leave a comment and let me know what you think. You can find other A to Z participants by clicking on the graphic. You’ll find an index of all of my A to Z blog posts here.

13 responses to “Entwined, Entangled

  1. I just loved this post. Great photos. Creative girl you are. :)

  2. Beautiful! Especially love the last one!

    • Thanks, Madhu. You might like looking at these other photos I took of the brittle stars at the same time. http://wp.me/p1tzBV-J2 I’d never seen this sea creature before, and I was really taken with it. They just look so unusual, and always look like they are dancing. Would have liked to have found one alive to see how it moved, but these were washed ashore by a storm and had probably been dead for a few hours when I found them.

  3. I love today’s series of image. Entwined/entangled is so cool. Wonderful work.

  4. OK, were do you get all these wonderful treasures?..Is this in Fla? Darn if it is, do I need to move back! I love it!!! Well nature just has a way!!! I can just imagine myself out their picking up all these things and displaying theme in my place!!!

    • Yes, the Florida Gulf Coast! 3rd & 4th tree pics were taken at Lovers Key State Park & the shells & beach photos at Fort Myers Beach. The 1st, 2nd, and 5th tree pics (the one with the thorns) were taken in Central Indiana, the 2nd in my front yard, the other two in a nearby park.

      If I lived in Florida, I would probably need to replace my camera yearly. I took over 4000 shots in 3 weeks in January. Sure lots were throwaways, but still, there was something to see everywhere I looked! I’m fascinated by the stuff you find on the beach, both the sea creatures and the manmade junk that floats back to shore covered with sand and seaweed. As I walked along the beach, I picked up so much stuff and brought back to the hotel. But only brought sand home with me at the end of vacation. :-)

  5. Beautiful pictures Anne. Wau that thorny tree… what is that? Looks scary :O

    • Thanks, Anette. That tree is a Honey Locust. A sweet-sounding name for such a wicked looking tree! I was stunned when I first saw this. I thought I knew what honey locust looked like, but had never noticed their thorns. I think that on some they may be hidden by the leaves. I intend to go back to the place I took that pic in Feb to see what it looks like now with leaves. You can find other pictures that I took of it in an earlier post, here: http://wp.me/p1tzBV-UT

      • Oh it’s a locust. I’ll have to look it up. Locust sound familiar, but I’ve never heard of honey locust. Yes indeed a charming name. I’m wondering if the tree has a sweet honey like sap. Thanks for sharing. I’ll head over to the other images :o)

        • Not sure. I think I read that the name was a misnomer, that the blossoms aren’t sweet and it’s a bad pollinator. Thorns, supposedly, an adaptation to dinosaurs? Apparently they find them in the fossil record that far back. At least according to what I read on wiki when I first ID’s this tree in February.

          • I did some reading. The sweet element stems from the pod-fruit, which is sweet and edible. Unlike black Locust. In old days, they used the thorns as nails. Fascinating. Thanks for sharing your knowledge Anne.