Weekly Photo Challenge: Through


Straight Through to the Falls

This is my entry for the WordPress Weekly Photo Challenge.

I took this picture a few weeks ago. It is the same bridge in the photograph I used for last week’s challenge. I like how the bridge supports create a frame for the waterfall in the background. This is at a point where the creek divides briefly into several streams before coming together at the dam. So, while the bridge is over the creek, it is also provides a few to the same creek, not looking perpendicular to the bridge but intersecting the supports. To see this, you have to be facing the in a southern direction, the same direction as the creek flows, but look westward to see the fall that is on the south side of the roadway. It is a view that thousands of people crossing through the busy intersection daily would never see from their cars.

About Anne Camille

I bought my first SLR camera (a Yashica TL-ELECTRO) when I was 17 and imagined I would become a great photographer. My love of photography, unfortunately, was thwarted by a photo-journalism class (the first "C" in college, but not the last!) as well as several packages of accidentally exposed photo paper and the high cost of film on a student budget. An unexpected gift of a Canon Rebel xSI four years ago reawakened those old, dormant dreams. A bit wiser now, I knew that photog instructor was full of bs even if technically he was pretty good. I began snapping away and haven't looked back. Mostly, I shoot nature photography because flowers and rocks don't talk back at you when you pose them. I am a photographer, a reader, a writer, a thinker, a dreamer. Mostly you'll see the photographer here, but signs of the others shine through every now and again.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Weekly Photo Challenge: Through

  1. pix & kardz says:

    what a cool click. thanks for sharing.
    and thank you for following my blog! much appreciated :)

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Through « Ruth E Hendricks Photography

  3. gracefully50 says:

    Really nice Anne!
    Such a cool perspective…

  4. Pingback: Through a Tart Pan, Sprightly | Cardboard Me Travels

  5. Arti says:

    This is mesmerizing. You see things from the most unusual and unique angle. Bravo!

    • Anne Camille says:

      Thanks, Arti. I try to look at things differently. A lot of shots end up looking rather boring and straightforward, but I am always thrilled when I find one hidden gem among the uninteresting ones.

  6. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Through « The (Urban-Wildlife) Interface

  7. Ruth Bailey says:

    Thanks for sharing this unusual view that so many miss!

  8. sbmacinnis says:

    Love this image! Great composition.

    • Anne Camille says:

      Thanks, Stephen. One of the things I like about this photo (and the one I posted for the previous Friday challenge) is that it is located in a very grungy, industrial area with some rather shoddy retail establishments. It isn’t a very “pretty” area, and one where scenes like this are either not visible or are overlooked. To find such a hidden view was just lovely. I cannot count how many times that I have passed over this bridge, one of the busiest intersections in town that you must pass through no matter what route you’re taking to go downtown, unless you’re on the interstate.

  9. sandraconner says:

    This is a terrific shot! Very creative.

  10. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Through « 3rdculturechildren

  11. Northern Narratives says:

    That is a nice photo.

  12. Robin says:

    Nature is beautiful on its own, but framed like that – even better

Comments are closed.