Photo Friday: Meditative


Some places call out to sit down and loose yourself. In the woods there are plenty places to do so.

I find the most meditative places to be outdoors, preferably in the woods. If there is water nearby, and wildflowers, I find it even more relaxing and a better place for seeking a contemplative state of mind. Looking at nature with my camera also moves my spirit to a more meditative space.

Looking the other direction, a labyrinth in the field. A different means to contemplation.

Creek: Up close. You can't stand in the same river twice.

Same creekbed, standing in a different place, in a different season.

All photos shot at Waycross Episcopal Camp and Conference Center, Morgantown, Indiana. First 3 photos were shot in September, 2011. Winter creek, shot in February, 2010.

This post is my participation in this week’s Photo Friday, assignment: Meditation. Check out other entries here.

About Anne Camille

I bought my first SLR camera (a Yashica TL-ELECTRO) when I was 17 and imagined I would become a great photographer. My love of photography, unfortunately, was thwarted by a photo-journalism class (the first "C" in college, but not the last!) as well as several packages of accidentally exposed photo paper and the high cost of film on a student budget. An unexpected gift of a Canon Rebel xSI four years ago reawakened those old, dormant dreams. A bit wiser now, I knew that photog instructor was full of bs even if technically he was pretty good. I began snapping away and haven't looked back. Mostly, I shoot nature photography because flowers and rocks don't talk back at you when you pose them. I am a photographer, a reader, a writer, a thinker, a dreamer. Mostly you'll see the photographer here, but signs of the others shine through every now and again.
This entry was posted in Photo, Photo Friday, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Photo Friday: Meditative

  1. Natalie says:

    I too feel strangely at home next to the water, particularly the sea. I love to still along a country path, taking in the fresh air. It seems to have restorative powers. Beautiful pictures Anne.

  2. E A M Harris says:

    Beautiful picture of snow. I think one of the best things about snow is it is temporary, so teaches us not to cling to things.

  3. Anne Camille says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Jeannie. I love the sound of water in a stream, gently moving onward. Very peaceful.

  4. gracefully50 says:

    I love being in the nature, especially around water….it soothes my seoul. Lovely photos!

Comments are closed.